The Pitfalls, the Possibilities, the Peril and the Promise

by Exohxo

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $5 USD


  • Buy other things from Exohxo!



All songs written by Danny Oleson and Jasen Samford. Orchestration by Danny Oleson and Scott Teske.

Recorded and mixed by Conrad Uno at Egg Studios in Seattle, WA. Produced by Exohxo and Conrad Uno. Mastered by Mark Guenther at Seattle Disc Mastering.

Exohxo is a nine-piece pop/rock band from Seattle, Washington. In the winter of 2008, Danny and Jasen began writing and recording the songs that would become Exohxo's self-released first album, “Other Ghosts”. This first release and numerous Seattle-area live performances garnered Exohxo a fair amount of local notoriety, with air-play on 107.7 The End's Locals Only, and write-ups in local papers such as the Stranger and the Seattle Weekly, as well as various online publications.

In April 2010, Exohxo went to Egg Studios to record an EP with Conrad Uno (the Presidents of the united States of America, Mudhoney, the Posies). The five song EP, entitled “The Pitfalls, the Possibilities, the Peril and the Promise”, is somewhat of a departure from the songs of “Other Ghosts”, as Exohxo has had time to develop their style and talents as a band. Drawing influence from popular music of the 50s and 60s, these songs feature a lot of warm vocal harmonies and massive orchestration. Inspired by a performance with the Seattle Rock Orchestra, Exohxo brought in a ten-piece choir, as well as a string quartet and thirteen-piece orchestra to record on the EP tracks.

The “The Pitfalls, the Possibilities, the Peril and the Promise” features songs that range from ballads to driving rock in the span of
19 minutes.

The Stranger - "Now THIS Is What an Exohxo Record Should Sound Like!"

Belles of the Sound - "Exohxo from the Emerald City"


released May 26, 2010

The Band:
Hiromi Dougherty (violin)
Elizabeth Gue (viola)
Ben Hunter (violin)
Jason Jordan (bass, vocals)
Danny Oleson (vocals, guitar, mandolin, glockenspiel)
Johnny Ogle (drums)
Kyle Porter (piano, vocals)
Scot Porter (percussion/synth)
Jasen Samford (vocals, guitar, mandolin)

The Choir:
Edgar Garvin, Brad Joyner, Ailisa Newhall, Ellen Pepin, Jeffrey Short, Laura Thornquist, Rafe Wadleigh, Carrie Wright, Bryce Peterson, Samuel Rodarte

The Orchestra:
Katy Balatero (violin), Rachel Beaver (cello), Josiah Boothby (French horn), Stefanie Brendler (French horn), Ian Newhall (trumpet), Kevin Slota (trumpet), Dean Snavely (tuba, trombone), Caroline Sneed (flute), Jeremy Butkovich (oboe), Jared Leclerc (flute), Lauren Zeck (clarinet)

For more info, please visit



all rights reserved


Exohxo Seattle, Washington

"Exohxo are a chamber-pop band you should know about; they're experts at combining orchestral strings, forceful guitars, and poppy melodies into something at once catchy and erudite." - Paul Constant, The Stranger

contact / help

Contact Exohxo

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code